Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

Nowadays, to serve a billion people each day we need a huge of food and sometimes people can consume it. In the following essay, I discuss some of reason why people do it and how to solve that problem. There are a hundred of reasons why a large amount of food is wasted every year. First, since most fresh foods, such as meat and vegetables, are perishable, they usually have expired or best before dates. This means that if people do not consume them quickly enough, foods will be expired and no longer to use, which results in food waste. Second, the way humans prepare foods also contributes to food waste. For example, if foods are badly prepared, either at home or in the restaurant, people will confuse to eat and food waste will often occur as a result. Nevertheless, there are also a variety of solutions to improve this trend. First, even if some foods are not use for humans, they can be composted or used to feed livestock or animals. This would not only benefit the agriculture industry but also help reduce land filled organic matter that can be damaging to the environment. Second, even if the food waste is not use for livestock, it can still be used as a material to produce renewable energy. For example, in Singapore and some develop nations have taken steps to turn organic matter from food waste into biogas, generating electrical power at very low costs. In conclusion, even though food waste seems not harmless in today’s world, there are various ways to recycle it. Feeding livestock and generate energy can be two of the most useful ways to tackle food waste.