The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the fuel cost. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that raising the cost of fuel will solve the problem of the environment. Although this policy can help reduce the global environment issue, there are many alternative and better solutions to this issue, from my point of view. On the one hand, raising taxes on fuel may help in reducing air pollution and the carbon footprint of each individual. If the cost of fuel increases, people would limit the use of private vehicles and use public transports instead. Therefore, the quantity of hazardous gas emissions that cause air pollution is limited, and at the same time, the process of air pollution and global warming can be impeded. On the other hand, an increase in fuel prices cannot exhaustively solve the world’s environmental problems. To begin with, higher fuel prices will put a heavy financial burden on the underprivileged, especially ones living in poverty-stricken countries. If poor inhabitants struggle with more expensive goods, they could create some riots, and disrupt the political situation of the country, even the whole world politics. Besides, the fact that rising cost fuel cannot decrease the fuel demand of consumers. Hence, instead of rising fuel cost, governments had better invest more in the discovery of alternative energy for sustainable growth. In conclusion, while increasing fuel costs can partly tackle the environmental problems, there are more effective solutions that can settle climate change and environmental problems.