Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Environmental issues are of great concern around the world. Many people think that the loss of plant and animal species is the most severe consequence of a deteriorating environment while others argue that there are more important issues affecting the environment. I believe that the most serious threat to the environment is due to the many important issues influencing it. One reason is that it would be impractical. In recent years, natural disasters have increased due to climate change. Some scientists believe that global warming has directly affected the oceans leading to tsunamis, floods, and snowstorms. For example, in 2004, Thailand, India, and Sri Lanka were affected by a terrible tsunami that originated in the Indian Ocean. This caused hundreds of thousands of deaths and became one of the deadliest natural disasters in modern history. Therefore, if the government can address the causes of climate change, people can avoid the loss of lives and property. It might be claimed that some people are interested in the life of plants and animals because some species are at high risk of extinction. This argument states that even small temperature changes are enough to threaten hundreds of already struggling animal species. For example, melting ice in the Arctic has reduced the amount of ice, which limits the access of polar bears to prey. This places them on the endangered species list and it is predicted that they may completely disappear by 2100. Humans cannot reverse when extinction happens so everyone should live more responsibly so as not to deplete a certain species. However, this environmental argument oversimplifies the issue. Indiscriminate discharge has become a habit of people as well as their indifference that the environment has been polluted, it is useless to do anything, which has contributed to increasing the seriousness of the environment. Furthermore, the wastewater that has not been treated by enterprises has been dumped directly into rivers and lakes, polluting natural water sources, which violates the waste treatment process and causes pernicious contamination in the environment. In conclusion, it cannot be denied that there are numerous important sources related to the environmental issue. The natural world is threatened by climate change and is also influenced by serious pollution. These troubles directly menace people's lives, so we especially have to pay attention and improve it to ensure the standard life of an individual.