The use of cell phones (mobile phones) has increased rapidly in the twenty-first century. Additionally, cell phones can now be used for many purposes besides making phone calls. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Regarding the rapid growth of portable technology in the twenty-first century, cell phones have become an essential part of our daily communication. The prior versions of these devices were only utilized to make a call but during the modern era, they are able to execute multiple tasks at the same time, with extreme efficiency. In this essay below I'll be discussing how the developments outweigh the disadvantages. On one hand, the advancements in networking and processing have increased the ability of these devices to perform activities. For instance, activities such as analyzing a massive database, emailing a large attachment, video conferencing and storing manuals and books for future reference can be simultaneously and effortlessly performed using a single device, eliminating the need to rely on numerous products to solve the above-mentioned problems. However, certain work-oriented software have a steep learning curve which might not be useful if a person doesn't understand the basic functions of a mobile phone. On the other hand, these advancements in your pocket lead the way towards distraction as well. For example, social media and streaming services among youngsters interfere with their perceptions, mood and concentration on a daily basis affecting their performance at work and school, leading to addiction. The handheld devices are a great way to reach anyone through constant notifications and keep programming as intended. In conclusion, the disadvantages of these electronics outweigh the advantages due to how human desire and learning mechanisms function. Devices should be used responsibly by adults and youngsters should be monitored to get the most out of this great tool.