Some people say that dangerous sports should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Sport has been practised in societies for millennia. However, whereas some people argue that risky sports should be prohibited, I would argue that, while it is worth considering due to the severe impact it may present, its positive ramifications should not be neglected. On the one hand, those who argue that high-risk sports, including spelunking, scuba diving and motorbike racing, can be fatal should have been made illegal despite their significant impact on society and might point to its consequences. They may have an opinion that people who play adventure sports are irresponsible and view it as selfish behaviour. This is simply because such an act can cause great grief to their families and friends if they lose their lives while engaged in risky sports. For example, a parachute may fail to open when an athlete is already jumped off a plane to take part in skydiving, plummeted from thousand metres high to the ground and got killed instantaneously. As a result, opponents of adventure sports urge the government to ban them in order to avoid unnecessary deaths. Nevertheless, my view is that all sports provide crucial physical and psychological health benefits for society, which is vast and undeniable. To begin with the former, doing sports help to improve heart function, control blood sugar levels, and lower the risks of cancer. As for the latter, sports have been shown to boost self-esteem, reduce stress levels, and enhance resilience. If, for instance, the governments made extreme sports outlawed, people would have found it difficult to find a new one to replace their favourite sports which they may have been doing for a long period, and in turn, this can cause an adverse effect on their personal well-being as well as placed the economic burden to the healthcare sector. In conclusion, because of the sizeable positive influence that sport can have on public health, it is my firm belief that banning extreme sports cannot be treated as one solution for all in spite of the life-threatening it can bring to citizens.