Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the world has to face many different disputes including environmental ones. A large number of people express major concerns about endangered species of plants and animals while others believe that there could also be more significant problems. In this essay, I will more focus on the second perspective. Clearly, environment has diverse issues that need to be dealt with as soon as possible since the consequences of these matters could be seen day after day. For example, in recent years, levels of the oceans are rising regularly as well as natural climates are changing. As a result, these phenomena cause disastrous effects to various ecosystems such as the melting of icebergs, pollution as well as more frequent occurrences of droughts and flooding and other outcomes. Some people may argue that the disappearance of plants and animals influences the balance of the world’s environment because it will break the food chain. For instance, the loss of predatory animals at the top of the pyramid will lead to an unstoppable increase in the number of herbivores. In this circumstance, too many animals like deer and rabbits could lead to food scarcity almost all over the world due to the fact that they gradually eat up food. However, this argument is over – simplifying because more important environmental issues could change habitats where animals and plants live or even extinct them. For example, due to deforestation, many varieties of birds from the Amazon Forest have disappeared forever, then the population of insects has risen destroying agricultural areas. In conclusion, it seems reasonably clear that other environmental problems are more important than the extinction of wildlife as they can threaten the very existence of life on the planet. Therefore, if governments and residents keep ignoring those issues, more and more consequences will happen in the future.