Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While learning extra subjects at the universities which does not have a direct connection with the specialty is required by several students, the others believe that it is just a waste of time. This essay will discuss both of these perspectives, as well as include my viewpoint. On the one hand, narrowing the focus to subjects which are related to the speciality may help to expertise in that field. The studies show that giving all attention to one topic requires the minimum time to be an expert rather than trying to focus on things which are more than one. Furthermore, some additional subjects may be a waste of time for students. For example, if a student studies computer engineering, subjects such as "Effective communication" can be replaced with one which is more connected to the technological side of the qualification. On the other hand, these extra subjects can cause an interest in students which sometimes results in a shift in the career path. There are some records that students change their professions such as from law to historian or from electrician to businessman. Additionally, supplementary courses have a positive impact on individuals even if they are not directly linked with the qualification. For instance, courses about effective communication, businesses, or startups may positively affect participants' future careers in a good manner. In conclusion, although concentrating on speciality-specific subjects may promote more effective learning in a short time, it also can prevent individuals from acquiring invaluable knowledge. In my opinion, even if it may have some irreversible consequences, giving the whole time and attention to studying for a profession is more expedient.