Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

Basic transportation involves railways and roads. Governments should invest in railways rather than roads. In my perspective, I do agree partially with this statement. Let me elaborate and support my idea. First and foremost, the railway station. Railways function using trains and electrical transmission systems. Building railways save space and are more environmentally friendly. Individuals can save the cost of buying a car, fueling petrol, car insurance, hustle-bustle time to work and etc. Reducing car quantities on the road, reduce the emissions of carbon dioxide from the car which leads to the greenhouse effect in an area. Having railways can let authorities have more control over the accidents rate on roads while reducing the casualties rate on the roads. For example, Japan has the highest capacity of railways with excellent punctuality at all railway stations. Secondly, normal roads, using tar road to build. Roads require huge land to build up and it's not environmental friendly. Building roads using requires trespassing into greenery lands. Individuals have to work hard to purchase a dream car. The increasing number of cars on the road caused traffic jams and contribute to an excessive level of carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide. This will lead to a warming effect on the areas, eventually resulting in acid rain which is harmful to human beings. Casualties rate on the road increased. For example, Myanmar is one of the countries having the widest area of roads capacity, with a high pollution rate in the country. In conclusion, I partially agree with this statement. There are some rural areas in the country that need roads as a mode of transportation rather than railways to preserve the natural beauty of a particular region.