Many people today spend most of their free time at home watching TV series or movies instead of going out. Do you think this is right or wrong?

How do people spend their leisure time nowadays? It is becoming popular now for individuals to use almost all of their free time to binge-watch television shows or movies, rather than a quality outdoor time out with their friends and families. I would argue that although this might be less expensive, its long term effect on human health makes it a bad thing. On the one hand, one of the appealing reasons why a lot of people are opting to sit in their homes and watch movies is that they will spend less money. Most outdoor entertainment venues such as the animal zoo, for example, require a gate fee excluding feeding and other miscellaneous charges, this makes it a turn off to a lot of people particularly those in the lower and middle socio-economic class. As a result of this, they feel they would save some money by staying indoors and watching something on their television. On the other hand, despite the benefit of saving money, I am of the strong opinion that this is wrong due to the fact that it promotes a sedentary lifestyle. This is because, television shows are so addictive that it lures individuals to sit for hours at a time, without eating or even using the toilet. This is very bad for their health, as blood will not be able to circulate properly from their legs to other parts of their body thereby putting them at risk for stroke. To illustrate this point, a cardiologist recommends that no one should remain in a static position for more than 3 hours at a time. Hence, there is no doubt that the likelihood of a stroke is increased in those with a significant amount of television screen time. In conclusion, although many persons are choosing to be in their houses and while away time by watching a movie, instead of going on an outing with colleagues or relatives, so as to economize their income. I believe that the detrimental effect this has on health makes this a bad choice.