IELTS 12 - Test 6 - Task 2: At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, in some nations, it is observed that young people are significantly more in numbers compared to their elderly populations. In my opinion, although a youthful country possesses a higher risk of crime rate, the advantages associated with this age disparity far surpass any drawback. One of the clear cut disadvantages of a society where there are more youngsters than old people is that the crime rate tends to grow. This is because younger individuals are more likely to engage in irrational and reckless behaviour, putting themselves and the general public at risk for danger. For example, in Nigeria, where they are no strict rules to regulate alcohol consumption, most first -time drunk drivers are usually between the ages of 18 and 30, they can not control their impulse to drink more than usual at weekends. Therefore, countries with fewer regulations with a huge number of these age groups are more likely to see more petty crimes in their cities. On the other hand, countries have so much to gain than lose by having less geriatrics population and more youth. Firstly, this will strengthen the workforce of a nation, because fewer people will be retiring from work and taking a leave of absence from work due to health-related issues, which is common in the elderly group. For instance, China was able to overtake the United state economy-wise five years ago because of their growing youth population. Furthermore, younger people are quite innovative and creative with work, because they are usually competitive. They are well motivated because they do not have job security or a pension at this age, so this makes them put in more effort than people 65 years and older. In conclusion, although challenges such as an increase in crime will surface in a setting where there are more younger people than older people, however, I strongly believe that the merits associated with this are more beneficial overall to the country