Some people think most crimes are the result of circumstances like poverty and other social problems. Others believe that they are caused by people who are bad by nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have differing views about the root causes of criminality, the external factors as opposed to innate personal characteristics. While it is undeniable that social problems such as poverty could lead to criminal activity, I believe that criminality is intrinsic to the criminals' nature. There are two main reasons to support those who argue that people who break laws are driven by social issues. Firstly, unemployment has a strong correlation with robbery and theft. People without jobs commit crimes because of their desperate need for money to support their families. During the first industrial revolution, for example, unemployment rose dramatically, and crime was also on the rise. Secondly, crimes can also be influenced by social problems such as discrimination. It is possible that people incorrectly recognise themselves based on their race, colour or nationality, leading them to believe that their value and power are higher and greater than others ’, resulting in assaults, injuries, and even murder. Nevertheless, I would agree with those who believe that humanity’s flawed nature is the main reason why crimes occur. Lack of money is only the trigger for criminality. Most poor people would not hurt others since their moral baselines forbid them from doing such a thing. Moreover, numerous crimes, especially economic crimes, were committed among the wealthy, which can only be explained by greed. Despite the fact that their possession is much more than others, they never feel satisfied. Furthermore, violence-prone individuals often hurt others without reason. Many studies have shown that people with violent personalities usually cannot control themselves to behave peacefully, and they attack others without even realising it. In conclusion, although social problems might contribute to some crimes, my understanding is that bad nature such as greed and violence are driving forces behind the crimes.