Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, sugary food and beverage goods are becoming more popular, It is widely believed that the price of these products should be increased higher as they are causing many issues with people's health. I completely agree with this point of view, because raising the price of sugary food and drink products will eliminate the use of these unhealthy goods as well as contribute more income for investing in the healthcare system in order to treat the diseases caused by these goods. Firstly, Food and drink industry is developing rapidly, many companies are investing a lot of money in marketing and advertisement while covering the harmful impact on health leading to high sales of these products. One best way to reduce the high consumption of sugary food and drinks is to increase the price by applying taxes and fees on these goods. For example, smoke and alcohols are also products causing many health problems. In Singapore, the price of cigarettes and wines are much higher than in their neighbour countries because the Singaporean government adds many kinds of taxes on these goods. Consequently, the sale of cigarettes and alcohols reduce significantly. Furthermore, governments can have more income for investing in the healthcare systems which are used for treating diseases caused by sugary consumption. It is clear that food and drink products with a high level of sugar are the cause of many health concerns such as diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, overweight,... which are burdening the hospitals and medical centres. The income collected from adding taxes on sugary products is a significant contribution to the improvement of medical centres which are used to test patients having health matters relating to sugary products. For instance, the income for duty applied for smoke and wine in Singapore is high enough to reinvest in social services. In conclusion, the rapid development of fast food and sugary food is resulting in many health issues for the community. Increasing product prices is a good way to eliminate the consumption of these kinds of goods and bring more income for governments to invest in the healthcare system.