In many cities, the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Recent decades have witnessed an ever-increasing number of crimes in many cities worldwide, and using surveillance cameras has been considered an effective solution to improve this status. Although some people argue that this invades their privacy, in my opinion, the beneficial effects of installing video cameras outweigh its disadvantages. On the one hand, there are several compelling reasons why some people are concerned about individual freedom being restricted when video cameras are installed around the cities, especially in public areas. The images of our faces or movements are recorded by security organizations, and they are willing to open and analyze them in detail when necessary. Besides, in some cases, the thought of constantly being observed and monitored could cause discomfort. For example, some people are obsessed with the imagination that there is somebody following them in the long term, which can result in mental health issues, such as anxiety or obsessive-compulsive disorder. Despite the above arguments, I believe that CCTV cameras play an essential role in fighting crime since they greatly contribute to the protection of people from threats. Video cameras have more considerable benefits than traditional surveillance, namely, security operators can quickly identify risky situations and stop them early thanks to informing stakeholders to support them. With the aid of video cameras, responses are shortened, and law enforcement can intervene sooner, thereby mitigating the risk of harm before it escalates. Consequently, increased camera surveillance leads to early detection, prompt intervention, and more effective crime prevention. In conclusion, it seems to me that we gain more than we lose from the enhanced security that CCTV cameras bring to our cities.