In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society.

Life expectancy is longer than ever before in the world because of the development of technology and the growth of human wealth. While the long-life period will benefit individuals, I believe that it will bring some negative consequences for the whole society in the long run term. One problem associated with the ageing population is that the healthcare system's cost will increase, and it can therefore impose a burden on taxpayers. It is widely known that most medical needs and costs occur in the last year of life. This means that governments need to allocate large amounts of funds to train medical staff and provide medical facilities to meet the enormous demands of healthcare institutions. As a result, working people need to contribute more through taxes to support the governments; otherwise, the other essential service like education will be underfunded. The low productivity of society is another problem as the number of senior citizens increases. More specifically, If a large proportion of the population is at the retirement stage, most industries will lack the labour force, which will negatively impact economic growth. In addition, while some older adults choose to delay their retirement, the slow pace of work is still a factor that harms productivity. This is because either the ability to absorb information or the energy to complete work declines with age. Also, many older people hold a conservative attitude toward technology. To sum up, the considerable extension of life expectancy has strained health care and made the workplace less productive.