The internet is a great course of information and has opened up opportunities for people to learn all over the world. Is all information reliable on the internet? What could be done to control information online?

While the internet has provided the public with new ways to collect information, there are some that we cannot fully trust. This essay will explore what may be untrustworthy news and suggest how we can prevent people from being misled by such news. Unlike before, when newspapers were the main source of news distribution, people now have more platforms to share news and opinions. This results in a large amount of unreliable information being displayed online, everyone can access. While information published through official websites such as government websites, academic forums and online newspaper is reliable, information displayed on personal forums or blogs is sometimes false. This is because people think they have the freedom to show whatever they want, or just try to use fake news to make fun of and mislead others. Controlling this problem requires examining both the news itself and the individual publishers. Firstly, websites should hire fact-checkers to check and remove false information, and this can achieve better results by cooperating with the cyber police. By deleting false news, fewer people will be affected. Secondly, identity check should be strictly required when setting up online accounts before posting anything, by doing so, people will have more self-discipline to post any unproved news. Moreover, punishments need to be made to those who breach the rules by posting or sharing false information. In conclusion, despite the fake online news all around us, the problem can be controlled by the actions taken by the fact-checkers and ID proofs.