Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays the question of whether children should start learning a second language at elementary schools rather than in higher schools has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this trend is advantages, the disadvantages will be far more significant. One of the main advantages is that learning a second tongue in many countries is very important and the earlier a student can learn the better for their future growth. Toddlers normally learn new things very quickly so they can have a lasting impression, which means that it boosts up their brain and enhance their performance. For example, in some certain countries like Singapore, students are educated to learn English from a very early age so they can speak and write as if it were their mother tongue. Moreover, learning a tongue is fun and sometimes easy to learn so they will show more enthusiasm to learn a new language than they do in later stages. Hence, doing the practice for years and years will make the kids more fluent in using the tongue and this helps in the development of their brains. However, there are still some disadvantages of studying a new language at an early age. First, it may create confusion between mother tongue and foreign language because, at that time, they have to learn not only their native tongue but also a foreign one. Second, if they had to speak or write two languages at the same time, they would find trouble with the grammar or pronunciation of the new one. It means that they will be given an extra burden when approaching new things. In conclusion, I advocate that starting learning a non-native language in secondary schools has more beneficial than in primary ones. Considering all the pros and cons of them will make the best decision for not only the educators but also the learners