There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a higher level of stress on the younger generation to accomplish their educational goals. Some individuals believe that the non-compulsory courses such as sports, art and cooking classes should be replaced by the exam subjects. However, I do not agree that the non-academic subjects should be removed from the compulsory curriculums. This essay will discuss the reasons why students need to keep on having extracurriculars. Currently, young students in primary and secondary schools face increasing pressure because they want to be accepted by a better university. To achieve this goal, they make full use of the time on their homework and try to gain an excellent score in areas like English, mathematics and the other academic curriculums, to successfully meet the universities’ entry requirements. For example, when I was still a high school student, I had to stay in the library to go over all of the knowledge of my compulsory courses to prepare for the university's entrance examination even if I was on my midterm break. Therefore, pupils and high school students, those who spend more time on necessary subjects, are more likely to get a better score on the examinations. Conversely, mental and physical health is still necessary, although academic work always comes as the most priority place in their study life. Only when children are able to keep balance on their health and study, they can handle the academic tasks effectively. For instance, extracurriculars such as physical classes, painting and cookery, can not only relax their bodies but also release the stress caused by paperwork. Thus, non-academic activities are also significantly important for children. In conclusion, young people spend most of their time on compulsory curriculums because of the increasing pressure from the study atmosphere. However, extracurriculars contribute better health conditions for the younger generation to ensure that they are able to perform better. Consequently, I disagree that non-academic subjects should be neglected in basic education.