There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional musicnowadays of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere ?

Music is appreciated worldwide. Indeed it is its diverse form which makes it to be enjoyed by all individuals. This esaay will elaborate why we need music and will further explain why traditional music is more important than modern international music. Among many reasons why music is needed, is its educative nature. It goes without mention that we learn so much through music. For example, artists educate us about current affairs of the nation through their music as well as sensitising the general populous about key elements of society like common disease outbreaks. Additionally, music is essential in the sense that it helps us relax as we use it as a source of entertainment. For instance, a survey conducted among medical students at Cambridge University showed that 98% of them relieve their stress by listening to music. Music can be categorised as traditional and modern international music. The former is more essential than the latter because of not only helping preserve cultural values but also is easily understood by indiginous poeple. This will make everyone understand and appreciate their roots through music and consequently pass on the trend to future generations. This is backed by evidence from a research done in China, in which 87% of the correspondents preferred local traditional music to international music for the purposes oulined above. Therefore, it has been shown that music in all its complexity, is needed for its educative and entertainment nature. Furthermore, traditional music is opted for by many poeple for the sake of cultural preservation and also easy understanding of what is being said in the songs.