Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is generally believed that products with high amounts of sugar should be charged extra tax by the government. While this trend exerts positive effects on public well-being, I would argue that its drawback for producers and vulnerable people should be taken into consideration. On the one hand, I have to concede that the heightened tariffs on sugary products can bring some far-reaching benefits. Firstly, this trend will contribute to public well-being when people hesitate to buy products containing a high level of sugar at a high cost. This possibly directs customers towards healthier choices, thus lowering the incidents of severe diseases such as obesity, high cholesterol and various kinds of cancer. Furthermore, on a larger scale, such desirable results may reduce the burden on the healthcare system. That paves the way for the government to save their budget for more pressing issues. On the other hand, adding a special tax on sugary foods and drinks will exert negative impacts to some extent. One problem is that manufacturers who produce these products may be put a risk of bankruptcy. This is because the additional tariffs lead to a higher selling price, probably decreasing the consumption of high sugar products. As a result, companies may suffer from financial obstacles due to the loss of business revenue. Another issue worth mentioning is that the increased tax is associated with a weightier financial pressure on the underprivileged people. As a case in point, the substandard people who are susceptible to the risk of low blood pressure are less likely to afford the products with a high amount of sugar, being under more pressure to earn money and spend on these items for the sake of their health. As a consequence, the government cannot overlook these disadvantages before imposing a tax policy on highly sweetened products. In conclusion, despite the benefits from the increased tax on sugary products in relation to public well-being, I believe that the drawbacks of this initiative should also be considerable.c