In many cities around the world, traffic is a serious problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to improve the situation?

One of the most serious issues facing modern cities is blockage and rush hour. Not only does it hinder movement, delay commuters and cost businesses money, but those vehicles contribute to the toxic fumes that are damaging our air quality. In this essay, I will examine two factors that are driving the current problems and suggest ways to improve the situation. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to improve the situation? Traffic congestion is caused by two things. The first is simply the growing population. Clearly, as more and more people flock to urban areas, as they have. been doing for decades now, more cars crowd the roads, and more traffic jams occur. Melbourne, which has seen the highest population increase in Australia, is a classic example of a city now struggling to cope with the rise in vehicles. The other factor, somewhat related, is the insufficient infrastructure in many urban areas. Poor road maintenance, badly programmed traffic signals and a lack of public transport options all mean drivers spend longer stuck in traffic. There are, however, some options to alleviate the problems caused by jams, and both involve the government. One is to improve public transport by making it cheaper, more reliable and safer. If trains, buses and trams were viable options, commuters would be more likely to leave their car at home. Another, less simple solution would be for governments to invest more in regional zones. By encouraging some large companies to relocate there, perhaps by offering tax breaks or rent subsidies, the state could lure more people away from congested urban centres. This shift in the population would take the pressure off the road system, and drastically cut transport. In conclusion, even though movement seems to be an inevitable part of modern life, it need not be. With creative thinking and investment from leaders, the situation could be improved.