Some people say that sports play an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over sports. While some claim that it is of significance in society, the opposite regards it merely as a recreational activity. I would contend that playing sports is indispensable instead of solely being a leisure pursuit. On the one hand, there are lots of people who just play sports for enjoyment. Evidently, most of their time is spent studying and working so it is effortless to understand why sports are considered an effective method for them to unwind after work. In Vietnam, for instance, high school graduates tend to engage in physical activities for pleasure only after having high scores in the university entrance examination because they want to fully concentrate on studying in order to get access to prestigious universities. Therefore, only when having a great deal of spare time, do some individuals participate in sporting activities. On the other hand, sports bring positive impacts on every human being's life. Since taking part in leisure pursuits is an efficient way to maintain robust health and avoid contracting dangerous diseases, sports are part of many people's daily rituals. In particular, swimming and running can be cited as some physical activities to improve stamina, increase lung capacity and prevent health problems such as obesity, back pain or heart attack. Thus, sports play a paramount crucial role in living a healthy life. In conclusion, although some people think sports are solely a recreational tool, I opine that it acts as the main determinant of a healthy society.