Many people believe that physical fitness is essential for academic performance. How does exercise benefit school performance and what can people do to maintain a regular fitness routine? Give explanations and examples for your response.

Modern science has proven a strong connection between exercise and learning. (background – definition and importance) A brain is a biological machine that needs to be healthy in order to perform optimally and this is essential for recruitment success throughout their school years. Regular physical exercise is vital for school performance as it not only aids concentration but also stamina, and a regular workout routine can be maintained by scheduling and prioritizing it. Regular physical activity enables the mind to stay calm and focused on intensive learning for prolonged periods of time without significant fatigue. When students engage in one hour of daily cardiovascular exercise, such as running and swimming, they can gain the ability to study for eight to ten hours a day without being distracted by friends and entertainment. For example, a recent research study of 1000 students in Australia revealed that learners who engage in a minimum of four hours of weekly exercise not only spend at least 10 hours more on their studies but also have an average of one point higher GPA. Certainly, many studies such as this have proven the positive impact of exercise on learning performance. In order for pupils to achieve a regular exercise routine over the course of months and years, it is necessary to both have a timetable set for working out, as well as make it of the utmost importance regardless of other commitments. Using tools, such as Google calendar or a wall calendar, a college student can indicate a block of time, such as 8 am to 9 am, Monday to Friday, for jogging and weight training. Importantly, even if they have distractions, such as friends asking to go for coffee or breakfast, they must choose to stick to their act routine instead. Thousands of university students in Australia have gym memberships paid six months in advance and attend an hour of exercise regularly because they have made it an essential part of their morning routine. It is these same students who achieve higher scores on their GPA. In conclusion, frequent exercise improves overall brain function which leads to better and longer attention to study; and in order to maintain this, learners must allocate time and importance to such physical activities. It is clear that the return on invested time and effort is well worth it for students ’ academic careers.