Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Environmental issues have always been hotly discussed among people for decades since the cases of severe natural disasters surged. Some may believe that the major problem nowadays should be the massive loss of a variety of species while others argue that there are more pressing environmental challenges that need us to tackle. Although there are some justifications for the former one, I would regard the latter as more reasonable. I will address both sides with this essay. Initially, it can be argued that the extinction of certain animals and plants is posing worrying threats to human society. The loss of some species means the breakdown of the entire food chain, which plays a significant role in stabilizing the global environment. For example, the rise of sparrows due to the lack of their natural predators in last century England led to the massive damage to many farmlands. As a consequence, people in the area not only suffered from food insecurity for quite a while, but also faced dramatic climate changes as a result of the loss of vegetation. However, there are more critical environmental issues that are affecting us much more directly and profoundly. One obvious example is global warming. As carbon emissions rise, there are increasing accumulation of greenhouse gases that will gather tremendous heat around the globe. One of the ripple effects is the rising sea level, which forces thousands of people to move away or even the submergence of various island countries like Bangladesh. Another consequence is more deadly diseases as a result of climate change. In conclusion, it can not be denied that the loss of species can cause food insecurity or regional climate change. However, in my opinion, only by tackling more overwhelming issues like global warming can the overall environment be better.