Some people think that cars are the best way to travel in a city, while others thinks bicycle is better. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

Cars and bicycles are two common means of commuting in a city. While both have their pros and cons, I believe the choice of a "best" means of transportation is situational, although I personally prefer cars. In the following sections, the advantages and disadvantages of both means of transportation are discussed. Cars are one of the characteristic features of cities and towns. Motor vehicles are able to provide a fast, comfortable and safe means of travelling from point A to B. In many cultures, automobiles are also a status symbol, which adds to their value prospect. Hence it is fairly common to see people buying a motor car as soon as they are able to afford one. However, the hike in the number of cars plying on the road also results in traffic jams, which is another common scenario in big cities and towns. In Bangladesh, it has been estimated that around 1 billion BDT is lost in traffic jams. Thus people who put a big emphasis on the proper usage of time have sought bicycles as an efficient means of movement within a city. The key advantage that a bicycle poses is the fact that it is often not required to be stuck in a traffic jam. Being a small vehicle, a bicycle is able to cut through the tiny gaps between vehicles and thus avoid traffic jams. Additionally, cycling requires a fair amount of physical exercise which is highly beneficial from a health perspective. Moreover, bicycles are fairly cheap and thus affordable for a large group of people. However, most cities suffer from the problems of air and sound pollution. A bicycle rider is unfortunately exposed more to the different harmful particles in the air, which might lead to respiratory complications and other health issues. In this regard, an individual inside a car is usually protected from such forms of pollution to some extent. From the above discussion, it can be observed that it is difficult to pick an overall "best" means of transport as both of them provide numerous advantages and disadvantages. However, for many people, including myself, a car is not just a medium of transportation. For such individuals, a car is analogous to a child, which one cares for, provides for and seeks to avoid any form of injury. Driving has also been found to be therapeutic for many people, helping them overcome moments of depression and sadness. Thus, in conclusion, it is fairly difficult to pick the best vehicle between cars and bicycles. Ultimately, it boils down to one's preferences and priorities. For me, however, I prefer cars.