People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

In the present, our society has reduced the number of hours related to the time to sleep. Compared to our ancestors we sleep much less, and it is because of multiple reasons all around the modern lifestyle. This essay will explore some of these causes as well as the consequences of this phenomenon on people and their communities. Although there are numerous reasons and probably all depending on the individual, it is lucid that everybody in the new generations has pressure in terms of productivity, that is why the time cannot be wasted and should be used to learn or generate economical resources. It means that instead of sleep is better to use that time to work or study more. For example, some prefer to have an additional job in the evening to earn more money than go home and sleep early. In addition, unhealthy habits such as the use of a computer, video games or smartphones are also at the roots of the situation, because they are commonly used before going to bed and their blue light along with the stimulus that produce activate the brain affecting the sleep. On the other hand, the consequences are uncontrollable and go from a simple grumpy character to a grave illness. When someone does not sleep as much as needed the very next day the affectations are evident, irritability, less attention and stress are lucid examples and without doubt these also affect friends and family who surround the affected. For instance, we all have had to tolerate some unrested friends, and it is an exhausting task. Moreover, long term health issues like Alzheimer and cancer are also linked with bodies that have been brought beyond the limits with unappropriated sleep periods, an additional problem not only for the person but also for their family. To conclude, the causes of the shorter period of sleep than people have currently are due to the lifestyle and poor habits, it develops problems related to temperament they are who have to show tolerance or take care of their loved ones.