Many people believe that bicycle is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is no longer the main form of transport.  What are the reasons?  What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

Nowadays, most people prefer driving or taking automotive vehicles to riding bicycles, despite understanding that it is a healthy and eco-friendly choice. In this essay, I’ll cover the reasons and some measures taken for the encouragement of it. The main reason is that individuals living in a fast-paced life focus more on efficiency, often ignoring long-term environment or their own health. For example, it only takes less 2 hours to fly from one city to almost any one in China. But if riding a bike, one may spend several days, and even months. Also, easier access to cars or buses make it possible to discard bikes, due to the rapid development of the transportation industry. Besides, laziness is a natural and intrinsic trait of humans and thus automotive vehicles have gradually become our first choice rather than manual bicycles thanks to their labor-saving. There are some measures to motivate more people to use this environmentally friendly mode of transport again. First of all, for governments, they should advocate the design and development of average-sized and small cities rather than only metropolis, where it will be possible for citizens to bike from their home to the workplace or school within 20 minutes, an acceptable time. Additionally, private companies could develop the shared-bike project, which has been in use in many cities, since it is very convenient for people to bike to some short-distance destinations.  In conclusion, the reason that larger population gives up bicycles is that automotive vehicles are more efficient and satisfied with human needs. However, this does not mean that it is a worthy behavior and instead we can take steps to embrace it again, such as designing small and medium-sized urban areas and initiating shared-bike schemes.