Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

These days, many people are suffering from health problems. One of the most common diseases is diabetes which is caused by consuming high levels of sugary drinks or foods. As a result, some people opine that these goods should be harder to access by increasing their price. From my point of view, I completely disagree with this opinion and think that there are better ways to solve this problem. In this essay, the reasons and solutions to support my disagreement will be outlined. First of all, making this merchandise more expensive is unfair to the customers. They should have to pay more to be these goods. In addition, it might not affect someone who has enough who have money. They will continue to consume it no matter what it cost. However, the government can reduce this high consumption by putting a tax on sugar so that the manufacturers will find other ways to create unsweetened products. For example, beverage companies are competing in a healthy food market in Thailand for their sugar-free products. The shoppers thus have more choices to choose. Consequently, this consumption in Thailand is steadily decreasing. Meanwhile, the government should improve the health of their citizens by providing much information about the harmful of diabetes or diseases caused by consuming too much sugar so that they will have an awareness before taking sweeteners. In addition, they should make healthy foods more affordable. In other words, a primary reason that convinces a customer to purchase is price. If it is costly, they will buy a cheaper one. To sum up, I am totally against this opinion. I believe that adding prices to foods or drinks that contain high levels of sugar is not the best solution to reducing sugary products consumption. There are more effective methods, such as taxing sugary beverages or giving health information in such a way that society is less interested in it.