Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. What problems do it creates? How could this situation be improved?

A very large number of mini-companies and local businesses are stopping their operation due to the impact of supermarkets and bigger franchises generating commercial monopolies. This essay will focus on the consequences of this phenomenon as well as some possible alternatives to enhance it. This problem has brought multiple consequences and promises to develop even more. Firstly, the creation of a commercial monopoly where only a few have the power and can control the prices, alternatives and regularity of goods, example of that is that in countries such as Colombia all the local, family-owned shops are disappearing because of the hard competence of hypermarkets and now people already can see the lack of some products. In addition, fewer opportunities for entrepreneurs who of course, do not have the same resources to get into the market on a big scale, hence those who planned with a small business must think twice before doing it. To improve the situation the only option is to support our local commerce, buying groceries from the local ones and maintaining them alive. Despite, it something seems more expensive we need to recognize their effort and notice that we are not only paying for the element that we are acquiring at that exact moment, we are also promoting inhouse economy and our independence as customers. If tonight someone needs to buy some milk better go to the farmer or the small shop instead of going to the Woollies (Australian supermarket) could be an example. To conclude, all those small stores who are fighting to remain open are not only doing it for them but also for us whom one day may dream with our small commercial place or just with keeping buying what we want, so for that we need to support them having them as our priority and preferred suppliers.