Some people think that museums and art galleries should concentrate on the history and art of their own country rather than the works of art of other parts of the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Art knows no boundaries and only art lovers can understand this. Most people are of the view that museums and art galleries should only concentrate on the art and history of their own country rather than the artwork of other countries. I totally disagree with this statement as art is the only language that is not dependent on any culture, values or borders. On the one hand, I agree with the fact that if countries will only display their historic pieces presenting their own culture will attract more tourists,especially those who are keen on knowing the cultures. for example, If museums have their own piece of work, people like anthropologists would prefer to visit the actual places where the piece of art belongs. This practice will not only promote countries but it will go generate good income as tourism is nowadays one of the leading factors in boosting the economy of countries. On the other hand, It is okay to place artwork from different countries as well as mentioned earlier art is borderless therefore if museums and art galleries are placing work from all over the world, it will help local artists to get inspiration. also, it will attract not only international but local tourists as well, as they will get a chance to praise the artwork from all over the world in their own country. For example, If the museums of Picasso and other known artist is opened in one's own city, they will have a chance to visit and get inspired. In conclusion, I would say that both points have their own advantages and disadvantages but in my opinion, as the world is moving towards globalization there is no harm in displaying different work of people from all over the globe.