Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the environmental problem is always an important issue in society that many people concern. Some people think that the disappearance of some species of plants and animals is the main cause of environmental problems. In my opinion, I do not agree with this statement. I believe that there are still more urgent issues about the environment. One reason is that water pollution is one of the most obstacles to nature. Water contamination directly affects human health. For example, in Africa, especially people living in the slum is rarely had pure water to drink, they are susceptible to diseases caused by dirty water such as dermatitis, or diarrhea. People can not have a healthy body if they do not have enough clean water to use in their daily life. It might be claimed that the loss of some species of flora and fauna is a major cause of the environmental issue. The complete disappearance of some key species in the natural would link to the loss of neighboring species. This makes a strong impact on the environment and unbalances the ecosystem. However, this argument oversimplifies the issue. In fact, the balance of the ecosystem is seriously affected by many reasons, in which the most significant cause is a forest fire. Fires have turned lush forests into dead lands by cleanly burning plants, and have brutally killed creatures. In addition, Forest fires also have long-term effects on the climate. The enormous amount of carbon dioxide released after a fire has contributed to global warming, causing greenhouse effects and climate change. To conclude, the loss of some species of plants and animals is clearly not the main cause of environmental issues. Such water pollution and forest fire are more alarming problems that impact directly humans. Therefore, forest and water protection has never been urgent than now.