Write about the following topic: Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this contemporary world, plastic has become part of our day-to-day life. Even though, various products made from it have made our life easy, it is causing a detrimental effect on the environment and habitat. To tackle such a problem, the government should impose heavy-duty on these items and consumers should take wise decisions while purchasing them. Due to the fact of the chemical bonding, plastic products do not get dissolved automatically and remain in the environment for numerous years; which is why the moulded items buried in the land are responsible for making the land infertile. Furthermore, the downgraded quality of materials can cause diseases like cancer in humans and animals. For instance, millions of elastic bottles which are floating on the surface of the ocean are putting lives in danger within the sea. Hence, it is hazardous not only for the environment on the contrary also for every living thing on the planet. To overcome this problem, the government can levy high taxes on plastic products which will result in less consumption due to the economical factor. Additionally, the regime can run campaigns to promote paper packaging. As a shopper, one can act smartly while shopping. To illustrate, when customers go to supermarkets, instead of packing things in plastic bags, they can bring sacs made of cloth from their home. Moreover, they can also decide not to buy those items, which have more space in packaging than the actual content, such as packets of protein powder. Thus, the more sensible use of it, the more we save the earth. To conclude, the colossal surge in the use of items made from plastic like bottles, bags and packages is one of the culprits which are damaging nature. Lawmakers and individuals should work collaboratively and sensibly to prevent adverse effects on our surroundings and on health.