Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Humans nowadays have been encountering several adversely environmental matters. Some claim that the prime one is the disappearance of numerous species whereas the others believe that there are more serious issues. Here I will discuss both these views and give the reasons why I take the position of the latter. Basically, pollution is the deep root of almost challenges. Industrialization and urbanization age comes with diverse kinds of emission and waste, which devastates a large part of environment. For example, gas from factories and vehicles is revealed as one of the main factors that cause greenhouse effect and other climate changes. Although this makes the majority concern and attempt to take action to improve, it seems to remain an unsolvable difficulty. It might be argued that the extinction of particular living organisms has a great impact on surroundings. This could lead to ecosystem imbalance and a number of disasters. For instance, when it comes to a forest fire, massive deprivation of trees could cause flood, soil erosion and result in multitude creatures losing their habitat. The further problem would be breaking the food chain which also includes food supply for human. However, this argument is not convincing. I suppose that the extinction of some species and the emergence of others is inevitable in natural selection. There are still more pressing issues to be addressed such as global warming. To illustrate, the rise of temperature has generated the melting of polar ice and the ensuing increase in sea levels. Subsequently, significant coastal lands all over the world are facing the risk of being submerged in the oceans. In conclusion, though loss of biodiversity is one of grave problems, people have many other troubles to worry about. The uncontrolled massive pollution as well as climate changes have brought people on the edge of countless unforeseen dangers. Therefore, it is vital to raise awareness and solve these matters for the sustainable development of future generations.