It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as South pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With the ever-evolving technology and easily accessible travel, people are now able to visit unexplored locations such as the South pole. In this essay, we will examine some advantages and disadvantages and draw a logical conclusion. The two main advantages of being able to travel to remote locations are scientific advancements and potential tourist hubs. In other words, scientists have been exploring and researching all the geographic locations in search of answers across various fields such as geology, archaeology, medicine and ecology. For instance, the provision to explore a less-frequented environment could open doors to many new studies and help researchers discover many more new species of flora and fauna. Similarly, tourists are always looking forward to what this exquisite planet has to offer in terms of its beauty. For example, being able to tour an extreme weathered Iceland has given an economic boost to the tourism sector across the globe with over thousands visiting the country annually today. However, there are disadvantages to this as well such as exploitation of the habitat and pollution. Scientists may exploit the resources of the land in the name of research. Thereafter, animals will be captured to serve as lab rats and underground holes will be dug resulting in possible over-usage of the natural resources and destruction of the wild habitat. For instance, the dense amazon forest has only a third left of it, being subjected to research, mining, deforestation and excavation. Furthermore, tourists frequenting the place will eventually lead to littering and overcrowding. For example, the river Ganga attracts millions of people annually across the world. However, due to heavy littering and pollution, the aquatic ecosystem is destroyed and the river has now been rendered toxic for human use. To conclude, while an unexplored land may have a lot to offer in terms of resources, science and aesthetics, I strongly opine that some places should be treasured with limited human interference and therefore believe that, the drawbacks outweigh the advantages.