Scientists have been warning for many years about protecting the environment and that people must limit the use of energy in their daily lives. Despite warnings, many people do not do so. What are the reasons for this and how can people be encouraged to protect the environment?

The population of the world is continuously increasing, and in order to cater for the requirement, more and more resources are being consumed. Even after incessant warnings about climate change and protecting the environment, there has been hardly any change in society. This essay intends to shed light on the reasons behind the usage of resources along with the preventive measures in order to curb the consumption. To begin with, one of the predominant reasons for the over-utilization of energy is luxury. Lately, the reliance between people and technology has quadrupled over the years. Since, according to the research, 92% of America's population owns a car. Consequently, these automobiles emit harmful gasses that deplete the environment. Moreover, the luxury of completing a task within minutes is enough to excuse for human beings to rely on electronic products, irrespective of their implications. To cite an example, we all use microwaves to warm our food, instead of conventional gas stoves. As every lock has its key, similarly, every problem comes with a solution. The pertinent measure that should be implemented is the restriction on the number of automobiles that can be owned by a single-family. As a result, the petrol and diesel consuming cars would dry out on the roads, and hence, the environment would notice the change. In addition to this, electric cars should be made cheaper and more charging stations should be developed across the city. This would encourage people to buy these cars. To conclude, several acclaimed activists have voiced their opinion to take preventive measures because the environment is depleted swiftly by automobiles and household electronic devices. In order to curb the usage, electric cars should be promoted, and individual realization is critical.