Research shows that overeating can be just as harmful as smoking. Thus the advertising of certain food products should be banned, as cigar is banned in many countries. agree or disagree?

It is true that eating too much can increase the risk of certain diseases. While advertising and marketing could influence individuals’ choices, I believe that the issues caused by overeating cannot be simply tackled by banning food-related advertisements. Possible reasons will be discussed in the following essay. Advertising plays a significant role in shaping the consumption behaviour and the lifestyle of the public. Advertising sometimes overstates the characteristics of the products in order to attract more consumers. For example, people sometimes purchase something that is not essential, as well as more food even if they are already full, which leads to overeating and other diseases. As a result, the number of advertisement laws has increased dramatically in recent years to regulate and limit advertising and marketing. Moreover, the drawbacks of the products cannot be displayed in the advertisements, therefore customers cannot comprehensively understand the pro and cons of the products before their purchasing. However, I would agree with those who believe that overeating cannot be addressed by forbidding food-related advertisements to present in front of the public. Firstly, it is not the businessmen’s responsibility to educate the public on how to live in a healthy way. Advertising, as a method of promoting products, should claim the features of the product clearly and soundly. It is the governments’ obligation to raise awareness of a healthy lifestyle. Secondly, lots of diseases, such as heart diseases, cancer, and obesity, are genetic, people inherit the gene that causes the diseases from their parents. Therefore, it is unreasonable to prevent advertisements from food, since this cannot decrease the chances of genetic diseases. In conclusion, although people’s choices and lifestyles can be influenced by advertisements, it seems to me that advertising and marketing are not the initiators of the diseases, therefore they should not be banned.