The use of phones, tablets, and other devices when people are walking in public is causing concern among many commentators. What dangers may arise when people focus on such devices when walking in the street? How could these problems be reduced?

Recent decades have witnessed the ever-increasing development of cutting-edge technological items, especially phones, tablets, or other portal devices which endanger the safety of humans when they both walk in the street and concentrate on using them. This essay will discuss several key negative consequences of the phenomenon and possible measures to improve it. Pedestrians could have to cope with some potential risks if using portal devices while walking along pavements, public areas, and streets. Firstly, the greatest danger is certainly the possibility of people failing to pay attention to their surroundings, which leads to follow-on effects, such as bumping into other people, falling over uneven surfaces, or even stepping into traffic lanes. A recent study indicated that a number of deaths among teenagers in the UK was attributable to this case every year. Secondly, our mind tends to be able to prioritize one task at a time, and then focusing our thoughts on hi-tech products would become the boundary for us to observe and connect with others who may need help or guidance. As a result, this gesture could boost a sense of insensitivity or indifference in modern society. Turning to possible solutions, it would be helpful to see joint initiatives between governments and mobile phone producers to reduce this issue. Authorities should introduce more communication programs to raise awareness among the public of these risks. For example, carrying out some educational programs in schools or colleges could be an effective method to reach out to adolescents and young adults. Manufacturers could consider inventing some warning mechanisms on these devices, which detect when traffic or obstacles are nearby so that users can perceive dangers. In conclusion, the problem can continuously become worse unless residents are involved in better education and warned by alarming systems in their devices.