We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries. To what extent do you agree and disagree with this statement?

Given the limited influence we have, some people believe that only neighbours and fellow citizens in need should be taken into consideration, and the others are beyond our consideration. I agree with the idea that what we do not probably can make a significant difference to many others. However, I disagree that this is the reason we ignore others ' demands. It is true that what we can do is limited, but even a little effort could make a tremendous difference. As most of us are ordinary people without too much capital, it is unlikely that we affect too many people's situations. We now live in a technological world with advanced equipment which can help us easily get in touch with others. It means that we can do a favour to those in need with others through the internet. For example, children living in rural areas drop out of school for economic reasons, and without other assistance, they can hardly break the poverty circle. If many of us are willing to support them with money online, they could have access to education through which they earn a brighter future. It is necessary to help people in need, though they seem to have no direct connection with us. We are living in a globalization world and usually play different roles in various industries. This makes it possible that other's situations may affect us seriously. For example, many countries import grain from Russia, which is a main agricultural products export country. If the Russian bumped into a weather disaster, such as a floor, without assistance from other countries, it would require a long term recovery. In this case, many population's basic life would be influenced. The efforts we make to assist others are also the things we could do to help ourselves. In summary, I believe that it is our obligation to help others since we now living in a globalization world. In the meantime, assisting others who are in need is merit should be encouraged.