Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent, do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Some people think that railways are more useful than roads for their convenience in traffic and environmental safety. In spite of its significant advantages, I partly agree with this statement, as there are other ways that are more effective than the construction of railways or roads. On the one hand, spending on railways will reduce the exhausted fume from vehicles, and help people save a lot of money. For example, there would be fewer bikes used on the roads if we travel by railways, reducing our daily expenses on gasoline, and bike maintenance. Additionally, the percentage of pollution would be decreased and controlled at a specific level. Secondly, traveling by railway, in terms of long-distance, would be advantageous for our physical health. A typical example is that we have less chance of incurring traffic accidents, not to mention that we do not inhale much dust as usual, or encounter airborne infectious diseases. The next is to solve traffic congestion because there is high demand for travelling during the holidays. Therefore, if most people choose trains over bikes, we can cut down on the emissions of exhausted fume, and gradually improve environmental conditions. On the other hand, there are two effective methods such as subway, road bridges or multi-lane roads that governments should provide funding for. First, the subway is indeed the most convenient and time-saving means of transportation of all, as the vehicle users do not wait for the congestion to be ended, enabling us to reach the destination on time. Meanwhile, road bridges and multi-lane roads create traffic calmly and decrease traffic accidents. For instance, the number of vehicles would be allotted evenly, so the road users would have safe-enough distances while driving on roads. To summarize, I believe the government should spend more time on research to make sure what is the most beneficial option. The construction of the railway would make a significant impact on some aspects, however, other approaches should also be applied for better innovation.