Some people believe that what children watch on television influences their behaviour. Others say that amount of time spent watching television influences their behaviour. Discuss both views and give own opinion.

Televisions can certainly bring a change in a child’s attitude, be it good or bad. Though some reckon that the type of content being watched has a greater impact in bringing that change, others hold the duration for which the content is being watched more responsible for this. In my opinion, it is dependent on both the factors combined. People consider content being consumed on TV important because little ones have no idea of what is good or bad for them. Since a child’s brain is like a clean state and works like a sponge, it gets easily affected by every new stimulus they come across, especially on TV. For example, many youngsters wish to be like their favourite superheroes after watching movies like Avengers. In case the parents are not careful with the kind of TV shows their infant is consuming, they may end up developing habits that can be harmful in long term. So many individuals feel the variety of TV media watched has a great impact on their pupil’s attitudes. On the other hand, the timings for which the child consumes any content are equally significant. If young ones spend too much time in front of the TV, it can harm them in two ways. Firstly, they would not have enough time left to learn anything else and that would seriously hamper their overall growth. Secondly, too much screen time can have adverse effects on the child’s eyesight which is a very concerning issue at an early age. Thus, the number of hours spent on TV can also strongly influence a child’s behaviour. In conclusion, a child’s lifestyle is greatly affected by what they watch and how they long they watch it on TV. Parents are advised to make a thoughtful judgement on both factors.