Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

All games and sports require hard work and dedication to excel on the international level. To assist an athlete excellent training and coaching facilities are imperative for improvements. Hence, I strongly agree that governments should use the taxpayer money to fully fund all international athletes. Complete support from the government is necessary because government bodies provide structure and the world-class training facilities are costly to be borne only by the sportsperson. Firstly, any country needs a solid foundation and structure to nurture successful international players. A structure in the field of sports will ensure a good talent hunt and trickle down of opportunities to the grass-root level. To my knowledge, Australia has an excellent sporting structure, because of which it has many successful athletes in Cricket, the Olympics and Tennis. Secondly, for any player to achieve greatness, they need to continuously improve their performance. With advancements in sports science, amenities such as Ice baths and cryotherapy are essential to maintain muscle strength and body weight. In addition, world-class training grounds / courts and coaches are required to help an athlete significantly improve their skills and abilities. From my personal experience, I have seen my country, India investing in world-class facilities for all the athletes due to which my India's sportsperson has won many trophies and accolades on an international level for the last 5 years. To sum it up, as international athletes represent their country across the globe, they become a symbol of pride for the entire country. Hence, I strongly agree that the governemnt should invest efforts to put a proper structure in place for sports individuals to flourish and make quality training equipment, machines, and facilities accessible to all international athletes.