Reducing global environmental damage should be handled by governments rather than individuals.  To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, environmental damage can be seen growing to a large extent. Even though many efforts are being made to control it, still there is a conflict that who should be more responsible to tackle this crisis. Here, the topic of argument is that governments should take care to alleviate worldwide environmental destruction instead of the common man. In my opinion, I do not agree with the statement completely reason being a little effort pursued by an individual makes a huge difference. In this essay, I will discuss my notes on this issue and provide my agreement and disagreement. Firstly, This is undoubtedly clear that governments play an essential role to reduce environmental loss by launching different programmes around the world. For example - banning the use of plastic bags and promoting the ecosystem. However, it would be unfair to ignore small steps taken by individuals to clean the environment around them. For instance - people who use bicycles or walk to travel small distances enhance the reduction of the use of fossil fuels. The use of paper instead of plastic helps to make the soil less polluted. These are small initiatives that should not be overlooked. Secondly, on other hand, there are some non-government agencies that work very hard to lower the environmental loss. I can exemplify an organisation of which I have been part. That organisation sets up small seminars to aware people of the unhealthy environment and provide some tips to keep it healthy in local areas. So, I think it is a big step on its own to lighten up the environmental crisis. To summarise, everybody deserves a big round of blows who anyhow protects the environment to become a difficult place to survive. Hence, I do not agree with the statement that only government should look after environmental damage.