Some parents believe that formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student’s performance while continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree that formal examinations should be regarded as the only effective form of assessment?

An examination is one of the most used ways of determining a person's understanding of a field of study or an experience.It is often argued by parents that writing an exam is the most efficient method of assessing how good a child is instead of continual assessments. I am of the opinion that conducting exams is way better because there is no room for cheating and individual ability is better known through it. To begin with, examination malpractice is very rampant amongst students. So the best way to determine if an individual has good knowledge of a particular course of study is by putting them under examination conditions in which there is little or no means of them cheating instead of tests or assignments. For instance, homework or projects can be done with the help of the internet by just typing it on google search. By doing such an individual understanding is not properly gauged, but if an exam is set such person must have studied really hard in order to ace the exam which will be conducted under a strict condition meaning whatever the person gets will actually determine the strength of an individual. Moreso, after an exam is being conducted a result comes out showing the overall performance of the pupil amongst other class members. For example, if there were twenty pupils in class and someone comes 20th in position the person is able to know how bad their ability is, and it is a way of letting them know they have to read and study better instead of playing around, but in case of projects and the likes such would not have been known. In conclusion, although there are different methods of assessing an individual, an examination is still the best because it doesn't give room for misconduct and it helps an individual to know their ability better.