Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. While others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a fact that the packaging done to attract customers is leading to environmental degradation. Some people say that the onus is on the supermarkets and manufacturers to cut off excess packaging, whereas others say that the customers should say no to products with excess packaging. I shall discuss both perspectives. I personally believe that a joint effort is needed by all. The main reasons why some people say that the manufacturers and supermarkets should not do much packaging is that it would be a win-win situation for both – the manufacturer and the customer. For example, if the multinational company ‘Colgate’ gives up expensive packaging of its toothpastes, it could reduce its cost and pass on that profit margin to the customer, which would in turn increase its sales also. On the other hand, those who say that customers should show greater interest towards items in simple packing, give the following reason. They say that companies would not take the risk of reducing packaging for fear of losing their market share. So, customers have to step forward. If customers start giving preference to materials with little or no packaging, then this would motivate producers to pack their products using the minimum packing and that too of biodegradable materials. I believe that, both manufacturers and customers should take a step forward and save the environment. As it is the excessive packaging only adds to the trash generated in the homes. Only the barest minimum packaging should be there to ensure the durability, safety and freshness of products. For instance, most instant foods have to be packed in several layers using aluminium foil and superior plastic, with the purpose of longer shelf life. In such cases, the packaging could be allowed. In all other cases packaging should be discouraged. To summarise, manufacturers, supermarkets and customers have a collective role in reducing the amount of packaging of products.