Some Say music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

Primary schools intend to impart some very important life skills. While academics are important, the focus really should be on learning life skills like understanding the need for rules, navigating through the social structures, feeling the power of teamwork and the value of friendship. This essay would focus on highlighting the perils of focusing solely on academics while completely agreeing with the inclusion of performing arts during the formative stages of a child's mental development. Firstly, mental health is one of the most troubling issues that most countries are faced with, in modern times. For example, India has seen a sharp and consistent increase in student suicides. In the United States, there has been a number of school shootings that have raised significant uproar from the parent communities. This only shows how an unnecessary focus on pure academic success has significantly impacted children's self-worth pushing them into depression. Secondly, providing education on arts like music and drama not just provides visibility of possible successful career options to students, but also increases the confidence to choose a career in performing arts. While a few might never get into professional arts, they would still have the power of art to soothe their mind even when they enter the rat race that most professional careers such as Engineering, and Investment Management have only to offer. In conclusion, I would like to extend support and push to increase emphasis on art education at an early age and oppose blind priority being given to Mathematics and Sciences. This will have the dual benefit of not only improving mental health but also helping a born artist not to get stuck in a boring desk job and waste the gift he/she was endowed with.