In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

The expenses related to buying or renting can be the reasons behind deciding to own a home rather than renting one. Some people are inclined to buy themselves a house to settle down. As a result, this can have a positive effect since it will make people invest more in their future. However, I am opposed to this idea, and in this essay, I will give more detailed explanations. Some homebuyers believe that owning a home can help them feel safe and comfortable since they do not need to pay rent for their landlords. This can be economically beneficial since they can save up for traveling, private transport, or bringing up their children in good conditions. Furthermore, having a home lends an air of respectability. Modern citizens usually consider the size or furniture of their home as a sign of their social standing. On the contrary, homeownership may have negative effects on people since it may get people to have unrealistic expectations. People working and living in big cities usually have to work really hard to earn a living, and buying a house is likely to be a daydream. Consequently, both their physical as well as mental health decline. For some people, owning a home is a way to display their social status and renting one may make them feel insecure about themselves. However, homeownership is not always the best option for every individual. Some people would criticise that buying a house can cost a large amount of money; meanwhile, if they rent a flat or a house, they can save up for their upcoming plans more effectively. Moreover, the desire for a house can cause depression in some people since they may force themselves to overwork to earn more money. Consequently, both their physical and mental health are negatively affected. To conclude, homeownership can be a pleasure if done within a budget; however, renting a house may be a good idea for those who cannot afford one in a short period of time. By renting a house, they can save up for more future plans; on the contrary, buying a house at any cost may force people to get a loan and it can be a burden for them.