In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Nowadays, there is no denying the reality that having a home is a common human desire. Indeed, people's preferences have changed toward owning a house rather than renting in a variety of nations. While this movement has both positive and negative consequences, I take the view that it also brings challenges to having a home for the following reasons. For a start, the maintenance cost is one disadvantage of owning a home. Although purchasing a property is one of the more reliable options, it is contingent on knowing how much money to set aside for home maintenance. To illustrate that, property may be downgraded and need additional equipment due to weather conditions, even with great preservation in a couple of years. Therefore, possessing a house will demand continuance costs. In addition to the maintenance cost, having one ’s property would be less flexible. In other words, although renters are free to live and relocate anywhere they like, homeowners are limited to the price range in which they can afford to buy. For instance, if an individual owns a residence and has a well-paid job far away from home, he may find it incredibly difficult to get to the workplace, which in turn will waste time moving. Thus, compared to those who only rent one place to live, having a house reduces flexibility. Those who favor renting homes might claim that this would give those owning homes security; however, this argument is too simplistic. When people lack prudence, they may find themselves in unpredictable circumstances such as stealing or murder. Possessing a home is no certainty that it is always safe, as there are possible threats all around. Nowadays, for example, despite many homeowners securely locking their doors, some burglars utilize modern technology to break in and do terrible harm to possessions or even life. As a result, I believe that owning a home also hides some security risks, like renting one. Consequently, although living in a house also will bring more benefits to an individual’s life quality, I believe that it would be an unwise choice for inhabitants who want to improve their standard of living due to its infrastructure expenses and adaptability.