In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

People say that a stable settlement leads to a prosperous career. This trend makes many people think that possessing their own home, a sense of achievement, is better than renting one. In my opinion that is a positive trend for the reasons. Firstly, owning a house is a reason that makes people work hard. Nowadays, houses are one of the standards of wealth. For example, in Vietnam, people usually appraise their achievements by looking at their houses. The more luxurious the house people have, the more successful they attain. Houses are a place not only to stay but also to prove affluence. Houses are a place not only to stay but also to prove affluence. That gradually becomes the mainstream making people feel owning a house is very important, and it motivates people to work assiduously to earn money and buy their own house. Another reason is people can do what they want to do with their house. Each person has their lifestyle, so it is comfortable for them to arrange the furniture as their wish. For instance, people can buy tables, televisions, and heaters without the landlord’s approval, which they have to resolve when they stay in a rented house. People can also freely design their houses. For example, some people want a kitchen with more cabinets and a dining room in the kitchen only. Comfort is one of the crucial reasons why people prefer to buy their homes. Some people might claim that renting would be better for people because home ownership may be the cause leading them into debt. Many people mortgage and take bank loans to purchase houses. However, this argument is wrong. The desire to have a private home motivates people to invest in their future more than ever. For example, people will work hard and have plans to accumulate their money rather than lavish spending. Thus, in my opinion, the trend towards owning houses is a positive sign for our society. In conclusion, it seems reasonably clear that possessing a house is a positive trend. It is a big motivation for people to work and provide a comfortable place to stay. In the future, if this trend continues to develop, it will be an encouraging signal for our society.