Many people disagree with a school policy that forces children to learn a new language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some, that the schools are making a mistake to pressure young students to learn a new language. In the following passage, I will discuss why I disagree with this opinion. Learning a new language at a young age can have major long-term benefits for children. To begin with, studying a new language in elementary school can be massively advantageous for students. Particularly, children's brains become more and more flexible and capable of perceiving complicated subjects. For instance, multilingual children are less likely to have any difficulty when studying mathematics and physics. Additionally, making the effort to learn a new language when still young can consequently open a door to an entirely new world of opportunities. To cite an example, if a multilingual high school graduate wants to go to another country for college or university, they will have a long list of countries to immigrate to as they already know the mother tongue of those countries and consequently they would be able to live their daily life with no troubles. What's more, having mastered 2 or more languages, as people get older they are exposed to the risk of being diagnosed with mental diseases such as dementia and Alzheimer's. Therefore, multilingual elderly can live long and happy life next to their beloved ones with no mental illnesses, which is a great merit. In conclusion, mastering a new language can be significantly beneficial, particularly for children as their state of mind will be improved and as they get older they will be immune to mental illnesses. Consequently, I believe these advantages will make the efforts made at school worthwhile.