Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. Do you agree or disagree?

One of the recently debated topics is whether authorities should devote more money to railways or to roads. In my opinion, governments should spend money on both of those transportation modes equally. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss different views from my prespective. On the one hand, huge number of passengers can be transported by trains daily. Therefore, there would be a dramatic decrease for useing the private cars. In other words, if people do not use their cars for every distance, the carbon dioxide emission would decrease. Moreover, financial support for train's track would be helpful for environment. On the other hand, public transportation has its' especific time table which might be annoying to some people. Private transportation provide more flexible time table. Additionally, although it is more expensive, it is more accessible and more comfortable. For instance, useing private cars can be more reasonable for those who have child. All in all, more safe roads are as important as more railways, because there are many people in any society that prefer their cars for many reasons. To summarise, I personally think that railways are as important as roads. Both of them are used by different groups and spending the same money on both of them should be taken into account.