Some feel that cities should be designed to be beautiful while others feel thier funtionality is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is often argued that cities should be built attractive, whilst others disagree and thinks that their practicality is more crucial. I strongly believe that practicality has the upper hand in comparison to the attractiveness of a city. On the one hand, people there are people who think that planning a city to be beautiful is helpful in enhancing the local economy. This is because a well designed beautiful city will attract more tourists, unlike the ones which are not well designed. If more tourists will visit the place it will help in boosting the economy of that area. For instance, the city named Chandigarh in India is known as the city of beautiful gardens, which was designed by French architecture, due to its beautiful well-planned beauty it attracts annually a lot of tourists which made this city a place of highly affluent people. Therefore, planning a city to be attractive may be helpful in raising the socio-economic status of people. On the other hand, others believe that functionality is the most important aspect in the planning of a city. To elaborate, a city should be having basic amenities ranging from good hospitals, access to transportation, and educational institutes to serve the people in the society. Consequently, it raises the happiness index of the residents. For instance, Seoul is one of the best cities in the world due to its leading basic facilities to sustain a normal life. That's why it always tops the list of happiest cities in the world. Thus, during the planning of a city, the paramount focus should be given to functionality. In conclusion, although planning a city to be beautiful is beneficial in terms of increasing the economy of that place. It is my firm belief that practicality takes precedence over attractiveness. This is because a city enriched with basic facilities will make the lives of citizens happier and easier.